Academic Year 2015-16

1.    Board of Management

Members of the Board of Management:

Chairperson: Mr Noel Coakley Mr Stephen Dineen
Deputy Chairperson: Ms Anne Hegarty Mr Eugene McSweeney
Ms Aileen Maguire Ms Nuala NiBhriain
Mr Terry Hogan Mr Edward Sheehy
Mr Diarmuid Duggan
Cllr Mary Hegarty
Cllr. Patrick Gerard Murphy

The Secretary to the Board of Management is Brendan Drinan Principal

Meetings of the Board of Management were held on the following dates:



At its meetings, the Board of Management reviewed and adopted the following School Policies during this academic year:

Policy Title Date Reviewed/Adopted
Child Protection Policy 20/10/15
Anti Bullying Policy 07/02/16
Data Protection Policy 07/06/16
Data Breach Management Policy 07/06/16
CCTV Policy 07/06/16
Record Retention Policy 07/06/16
Assessment Policy 07/06/16
Student Council Constitution 07/06/16


2.    Parents Council

Members of the Parents Council:

Chairperson: Ms Sandra Carthy
Secretary: Ms Aileen Maguire
Treasurer: Ms Mary Murphy
PRO: Ms Carmel O’Regan
Ms. Sheila O’Sullivan
Mr Mark O’Mahony
Ms Michelle Keane


Meetings of the Parents Council were held on the following dates:



Notable events/activities where the Parents Council were involved throughout the year:

Annual ‘Meet & Greet’ for new parents
Internet information evening with Dr. Sinead Devine
Supervision at Christmas concert
Quiz night fundraiser
Treasure Hunt fundraiser on St Patrick’s day
Bake Sale May weekend in Church hall


3.    Student Council

Members of the Student Council:

Chairperson: Ms Flo McCarthy Doig Eimear Minihane, 3B
Secretary: Mr John-Lawrence Fagan Sharon Dukelow, 3C
Jack Ryan Purcell, 1A Morgan McKnight, 4A
Caitlin Hurley, 1B Annie Baker, 4B
Hannah Green, 1C Mark McCarthy, 4C
Leah Barrett, 2A Ellen O’Driscoll, 5B
Michael O’Reilly, 2B Padraig Dineen, 5C
Zoe Wilde, 2C Cliodhna Minihane, 6B
Niall O’Driscoll, 3A Niamh O’Callaghan, 6C


Meetings of the Students Council were held on the following dates:

14/10/15 07/04/16


Notable events/activities where the Students Council were involved throughout the year:

Guard of honour at funerals x2
Meeting with Inspectors during WSE/MLL
Proclamation day and flag-raising ceremony
Thomas Meagher Foundation lunch in Leinster House

4.    Enrolments

Enrolments for the academic year 2015-16 were as follows (the previous year’s enrolments are included for comparison purposes:

Year Group Enrolments 2014-15 Enrolments 2015-16
1 74 69
2 65 74
3 75 65
Transition Year 66 84
5 73 70
6 76 75


The enrolments in year 5 and 6 are comprised of:

Year Group Leaving Certificate Leaving Certificate Applied


Leaving Certificate Vocational Programme (LCVP)
5 18 N/A 52
6 12 N/A 63


5.    Academic Report

The following are brief highlights of academic events and activities undertaken or experienced throughout the year:

Very successful LC and JC results
LC 615 points scored by one student and 11 more over 500 points.  50% scored over 400 points
JC One student achieved 12 As in higher level subjects.  Another student achieved 11 As and a third student achieved 10 As.
WSE/MLL in March – very affirming report with many positives and a number of recommendations suggested to further develop and improve.  It was a challenging experience but one which left us affirmed for our efforts and motivated to push on with for further development and improvement into the future.
Continuation with the SSE initiative.  Whilst literacy and numeracy is now embedded in teaching and learning in the college, as strand 1 and 2, strand 3 was this year’s focus.  The SSE team decided on concentrate on the Junior Cycle key skills.


6.    Co-Curricular and Extra Curricular Report

The following are brief highlights of Co-Curricular and Extra Curricular events and activities undertaken or experienced throughout the year:

First year day of sailing Accenture organised STEM for girls
First year planetarium visit Model United Nations event in City hall
TY work experience BT young scientist exhibition and successes
History/Geography trip to Italy Blackwater outdoor pursuits
Transition year work experience Sailing Academy
French exchange Christmas concert
German exchange YMCA backed film making.
Dutch exchange Senior Girls football (ETB champions 2015)
Ski trip to Austria Senior boys and U15 boys football
Athletics Boys and girls basketball


7.    Summary Principals Report

Exceptional state examination results in both leaving certificate and junior certificate
Numbers taking higher level subjects are consistently higher than the national averages and results are in line with high expectations
Very favourable WSE/MLL report affirming our good practice.
New college website
Increasing use of VSWare as an everyday management tool
Use of new online payments system with ‘Way-to-pay’ on a pilot basis
Continued support of local community organisations who use the college facilities from time to time such as Girl Guides, Triathlon club, school of English, Primary school, GAA and Soccer clubs,
On-going provision of a Planetarium for summer star shows
Successful Proclamation day ceremony
College extension handed over completing nearly 5 years of work
Whole school cooperation with new Junior Cycle framework and full engagement in CPD provision
Continued support of third level colleges with trainee teachers on teaching practice
New Junior cycle reform will  mean a need to change the college’s weekly timetable
A diverse Transition Year programme with subject sampling and a wide range of co-curricular and extra-curricular activities
Continued provision of after-school and late-study.
Continuation of Bollinger and Marie Hamilton scholarships
Challenging enrolment figures due to population decline in the primary schools
Consequential challenges in curricular provision


Presented to the Board of Management: 11/10/16

Chairperson of the Board of Managements signature:                                      



Appendix 1.

Staff List 2015-16

Teaching Staff

Aidan Rees James Keating
Alison Hodnett Julie McMahon
Andrea Greaney Karen Sheehan
Anne Marie Collins Kay Quinn
Brendan Drinan Lara Kelly
Carol Hurley Lena Tiernan
Daniel Milner Lisa O’Sullivan
David McCarthy Marian Barry
Davoren Leung Martha Hayes
Edward Sheehy Niamh Woods
Elmarie Lynch Nicola McCormick
Emmet Vaughan Nuala Gallwey
Fiona Malone Nuala NiBhriain
Geraldine Hurley Padraig O’Sullivan
Grace Lenihan Paul Moriarty
Imelda McCarthy Sean Walsh
Tony Sheehan Stephen Murray
Yvonne O’Regan  


Support Staff

Admin staff SNA staff
Ms Jackie Hayward Sheila O’Brien
Ms Nora O’Regan Karen Connolly
Stephane Arundel
Ancillary Staff Lydia Harrington
Mr Denis Minihane Breda Goggin
Ms Nuala Lynch Sinead O’Mahony
Ms Mary O’Mahony
Denise Twomey
  Mary Keohane
Sailing Staff
David Harte
Mark McCarthy
Lorna Cahil